Invest in my university and invest in me

Vote Yes for Strike Action in the Higher Education Pay Ballot.  Ballot opens on 30th August.   

HE_Pay_strike_Ballot_16.jpg

UNISON is balloting members who work in universities on whether to accept or reject the employers’ miserly pay offer of 1.1%. UNISON’s higher education committee recommends members reject the pay offer and take industrial action to seek an improved offer.

  • Since 2008 university staff have seen a real-terms pay cut of between £1,585 and £8,248.
  • 12,000 university staff are still not paid the independently calculated Living wage of £8.25 (£9.40 in London).
  • Universities have record surpluses and billions in their bank accounts and there are record student numbers and record investment in new buildings and facilities.
  • The average pay rise for university vice-chancellors last year was 6.1% and the average salary for a vice-chancellor or principal is a whopping £272,000.

Pay austerity is a ‘choice’ being made by universities – not a necessity. There is clearly money available for some – we believe it should be available for all.

Vote YES in the HE Pay Ballot

The ballot opens on Tuesday 30 August and closes on Monday 19 September. 

You can download a leaflet and poster for your workplace here. 

More information about the dispute is available on the UNISON national website here. 

UNISON organisers are currently talking to staff about the pay ballot and organising meetings with your branch.  If you haven’t heard about a meeting then please contact the appropriate organiser below.

University of Bolton – Ann Kerrigan – a.kerrigan@unison.co.uk / 07432735181

University of Chester – Sandra Maxwell – s.maxwell@unison.co.uk / 07985118863

University of Cumbria – Niki Bowering – n.bowering@unison.co.uk / 07939583725

Edge Hill University – Jane Warburton – j.warburton@unison.co.uk / 07903853022

Liverpool John Moores University – Lindsay Deakin – l.deakin@unison.co.uk / 07939583811

Lancaster University – Niki Bowering – n.bowering@unison.co.uk / 07939583725

Liverpool Hope University – Kathy Sweeney – k.sweeney@unison.co.uk / 07432150525 or Steve Thiis – s.thiis@unison.co.uk / 07939583696

The University of Liverpool - Kathy Sweeney – k.sweeney@unison.co.uk / 07432150525 or Steve Thiis – s.thiis@unison.co.uk / 07939583696

The University of Manchester – Sam Luczynski – s.luczynski@unison.co.uk / 07939583644

Manchester Metropolitan University – Mat Winston – m.winston@unison.co.uk / 07904341944

The Royal Northern College of Music - Mat Winston – m.winston@unison.co.uk / 07904341944

University of Salford – Karen Ellis – k.ellis@unison.co.uk / 07957504885

University of Central Lancashire – Jane Warburton – j.warburton@unison.co.uk / 07903853022


Join UNISON Get involved in UNISON
Twitter